



Call for Papers

Special Section on Technology for Information and Content Accessibility

ITE transactions on MTA to be published in January 2017

The ITE (Institute of Image Information and Television Engineers) Transactions on Media Technology and Applications announces a forthcoming Special Section on "Technology for Information and Content Accessibility" to be published in January 2017. The special section is focused on technology for the accessibility of information and content for the visually impaired, hearing impaired, elderly and children. You are strongly encouraged to submit original research papers on topics which include the following:

- Universal services/ additional subtitles, audio guidance, text simplification
- CG and multimedia representation/ sign language, Braille characters, color calibration
- 3D imaging technology/ universally accessible graphics, haptic design
- Human information/ gaze input systems
- Information display/ tactile stimulation
- Sensory substitution for persons with sensory impairments
- Multimodality and accessibility/ universal web design
- Multimedia systems and applications

Submission Guidelines:

Papers must be submitted by May 23, 2016. Manuscripts should be prepared according to the guideline given in the "Information for Authors". The latest version is available at the web site, http://www.ite.or.jp/en/mta/information for authors/. Authors should write "Special Section: Technology for Information and Content Accessibility" in the cover letter and choose the [Special Section] as a "Section Type" on the online screen. Do not choose [Regular]. The term for revising the manuscript after acknowledgement of conditional acceptance for this special section could be shorter than that for other regular issues (30 days) because of the tight review schedule. Please contact us at m09302-itemta@li.nhk.or.jp if you have any questions regarding this call for papers.

Editorial Committee

Editor-in-Chief:

Tohru Ifukube (The University of Tokyo)

Associate Editor-in-Chief:

Yuji Nagashima (Kogakuin University)

Secretary:

Satoru Kondo (NHK)

Associate Editors:

Hiroshi Hasegawa (Utsunomiya University)

Masatsugu Sakajiri (Tsukuba University of Technology)

Tetsuya Watanabe (Niigata University)

Atsushi Imai (NHK)